FACULTY SENATE COMMITTEES MEMBERSHIP, 2017-2018

Dated: October 19, 2017

New Programs and Curricula

- 1. Dr. Kossi Edoh
- 2. Dr. Julius Harp
- 3. Dr. Hong Wang
- 4. Dr. Sungjin Cho
- 5. Dr. Elizabeth Newcomb
- 6. Dr. Galen Foresman (Co-Chair)
- 7. Dr. Reza Tahergorabi
- 8. Dr. Chastity English
- 9. Dr. Elimelda Ongeri (Co-Chair)
- 10. Dr. Diana Melton
- 11. Dr. Phoebe Butler-Ajibade

Educational Policy

- 1. Dr. Angel Dowden (Chair)
- 2. Dr. Jenora Waterman
- 3. Dr. Fafanya Asiseh
- 4. Dr. Mahour Mellat-Parast
- 5. Dr. Yewande Fasina
- 6. Dr. Yunqiu Zhang
- 7. Dr. Barbara Butler
- 8. Dr. Elimelda Ongeri

Faculty Welfare

- 1. Mr. David O. Tidwell (Chair)
- 2. Dr. Tony Graham
- 3. Dr. Ibraheem Kateeb
- 4. Dr. Gregory Meyerson
- 5. Dr. Sherrie Drye
- 6. Dr. Phoebe Butler-Ajibade
- 7. Dr. Admed Megri
- 8. Dr. Joshua Kirven
- 9. Dr. Zachary Denton
- 10. Dr. Barbara Butler
- 11. Dr. Marina Romero-Buechner

Constitution

- 1. Dr. Robert Cobb, Jr. (Chair)
- 2. Dr. Osei Yeboah
- 3. Dr. Ademe Mekonnen
- 4. Dr. Derick Smith
- 5. Dr. Arnold Barnes
- 6. Dr. Robert Li
- 7. Dr. Yewande Fasina
- 8. Dr. Luba Kurkalova

Nomination

- 1. Dr. Julius Harp (Chair)
- 2. Dr. Elizabeth Newcomb
- 3. Dr. Thomas Redd
- 4. Dr. John Kizito
- 5. Dr. George Stone
- 6. Dr. Bonnie Fields
- 7. Dr. Galen Foresman
- 8. Dr. Abebe Kebede
- 9. Dr. Li-Shiang Tsay

Academic Calendar

- 1. Dr. Tony Graham
- 2. Dr. Jianzhong Lou
- 3. Dr. Obasi Akan
- 4. Dr. Li-Shiang Tsay
- 5. Dr. Rajah Varatharajah

Faculty Handbook

- 1. Dr. Johnny Ducking
- 2. Dr. Tony Graham (Chair)
- 3. Dr. J. Charles Waldrup, Legal Counsel
- 4. Dr. Paul M. Stanfield
- 5. Dr. Bonnie Fields
- 6. Dr. Kaushik Roy
- 7. Dr. Geleana Alston
- 8. Dr. Phoebe Butler-Ajibade
- 9. Dr. Paula Faulkner
- 10. Dr. Meeshay Williams-Wheeler
- 11. Dr. Anna K. Lee
- 12. Dr. John P. Roop
- 13. Dr. Isaiah Ugboro
- 14. Dr. Robert Cobb. Jr.
- 15. Dr. Muktha Jost
- 16. Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Beryl McEwen

Other Senate Committee

Web Page

- Dr. Cindy Waters (Chair)
 Dr. Tony Graham
- 3. Ms. Kate Silton
- 4. Dr. Deanna McQuitty

FACULTY SENATE STANDING COMMITTEES DUTIES

According to Chapter IV, Article IV of the Faculty Handbook, The Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate shall be the: Constitution Committee; Education Policy Committee; Faculty Welfare Committee; Nominating Committee; New Programs and Curricula Committee; Academic Calendar Committee; and Faculty Handbook Committee. All of the standing committees present reports and recommend their committee actions to the Senate for approval. The duties of the standing committees are as follows:

- **A. Constitution Committee:** This committee shall review periodically the Constitution and make recommendations for necessary changes.
- **B. Education Policy Committee:** This committee shall study and recommend new policies or changes in existing policies relating to the academic programs of the University.
- **C. Faculty Welfare Committee:** This committee shall be concerned with matters pertaining to employment, appointments, tenure, benefits, and professional development.
- **D. Nominating Committee:** This committee shall consist of one member of the Faculty Senate from each of the colleges/schools and the library. This committee should submit a slate of nominations in April for Senate officers, school/college representatives to serve as faculty grievance committee members (Grievance and Hearing and Reconsideration), and Faculty Assembly delegates. In conjunction with the Executive Committee of the Senate, the Nominating Committee should identify faculty to be named to various university-wide committees to be appointed by the Chancellor, Provost, or a Vice Chancellor.
- **E. New Programs and Curricula Committee:** This committee shall review, analyze and approve all proposed curricular changes and new programs recommended by academic departments or other representative individuals or groups. The Senators from the School of Graduate Studies and the Library shall serve on the New Programs and Curricula Committee. Additionally, a representative from the Teacher Education Council will serve as an ex officio member of the committee.
- **F. Academic Calendar Committee:** This committee shall review the Academic Calendar each year to ascertain accuracy and fairness before the Calendar is officially printed. Its operations will be in accordance with The Code of the Board of Governors of the University of North Carolina (Section 400.1.6) which defines the number of class days per semester and reports the date for approved calendar submission namely, October 15 for the following academic year.
- **G. Faculty Handbook Committee:** This committee shall review the *Faculty Handbook* annually and/or deliberate on issues pertaining to the Faculty Handbook as directed by the Senate and make recommendations to the Senate for approval of any changes deemed necessary to the Faculty Handbook. It is the responsibility of this committee to update the Faculty Handbook with changes approved by the Senate.